So Simple

I have been struggling with a problem, this problem concerns my dogs eating my cats, ahem, waste.  They would treat the litter box as an all you can eat buffet (while supplies last of course).  The location of the litter box has been the same for about seven years; it was positioned between my washer and dryer in the laundry closet.  Each day we would shout and scold the dogs, each day they would eat shit.  The cycle continued until I snapped while vacuuming up clay and poo particles left from the most recent foraging.  I needed a solution.  I summoned husband and we discussed options.  As far as location, this is the only place that will work. Small homes limit these things.  As far as stopping the dogs, a kiddy fence had been set up to prevent them from entering the litter box area, which more or less prevented us from entering the litter box area, the dogs would always find a way.  As far as my frustration, I was maxed.  Husband retreated with no other suggestions.

Suddenly it came to me.  Genius!  Beautiful in its simplicity!  Perfect!

I turned the litter box around.

Now the the back of the litter box is at the edge of the front of the washer and dryer.  The cats nimbly hop over the box, and enter from the back (front).  Now they can get in and out but the dogs cannot.

Hooray!

Small, yet extremely rewarding victory.

~ by blanketgirl on May 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
