Got That Something

My sweet Youngest is so happy today.  She has been studying to help improve her third grade spelling grade.  When I went to parent teacher conference a few weeks ago, Youngest found out that if she brought her grade up twenty points in spelling, she’d be on honor roll.  So, she decided all on her own that’s something she wants.  Ever since then, she’s been bringing home one hundred percent scores!  Whoo hoo!

Gymnastics class is still going strong.  She has perfected her bridge pose and is working on keeping her legs straight during a cart-wheel.  She’s totally cute and knows she has skills.

I’ve watched her just glowing.  She’s so proud of herself!

Oldest is doing well too.  Last Friday was her first school dance, the seventh and eighth grade fall dance.  She had a blast.  I was nervous, I know about thirteen and fourteen year old boys.  Oldest was not worried.  To her, boys are still a little gross.  When I came to pick her up, it felt totally weird to be the mom.  I was the one giving rides home.  Having a teenager is totally bizarre for me.  Oldest was telling me how the dance went.  She said that she danced with her friends, and laughed a lot.  She told me that there were some “popular” girls that were telling her she was a spazz, and kept teasing her and her friends.  I was so proud when I heard her response, “Well, you’re just jealous that I’m having such a good time.  I don’t care what you think, I’m having fun.”  Good kiddo!

I’ve always wanted my kids to happy and independent.  I want them to come to the conclusions of what they need to do in their lives on their own.  I’m a firm believer that if I push them, they’ll push back.

When I was growing up my parents had firm expectations, and if I let them down, that was it.  It was like the love went out the window with my poor performance.  If I didn’t get A’s, I got a lecture about how I was wasting my intellect and not trying hard enough.  “Wasting my potential”.

In comparison, I feel like if my kids are trying their best and asking questions, they could bring home a four on a paper and I’d be proud of them.  I’d find ways to help them improve, but not force it on them.  They need to want it for themselves.

I was thinking about that with Oldest.  We’ve talked about boys and sex, and she’s told me that she doesn’t want to date until she’s finished with college; she doesn’t want to fall in love until she’s reached her goals.  Wow!  We’ll see if she still feels that way in a few years, but I think that’s a pretty mature way of looking at it.

I really love my kids.  They are more centered and happy than I ever was at their age.  The decisions they make and the way they carry themselves makes me so proud.  I love watching them grow up.

 

 

 

 

~ by blanketgirl on November 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
