Because of the Rain

This morning, at around four thirty, I heard a loud rumble and then the soft yet firm pecking of tiny raindrops.  It doesn’t rain very often, so when it does I try to enjoy it as much as I can.  I went and stood in the frame of the back door and smelled the clean air.  Then I went back to my room and sat up in bed listening to the rain and knitting.

I started to get drowsy again at six thirty.  I thought I’d be able to sleep just a little bit, so that I would be awake when the kids were.  Instead I ended up falling back into a deep sleep.  At eleven I woke up startled.  It was quiet in the house.  That can be good or bad.  Since the kids were alone (Husband went to work) I wondered what the damage would be.  Trashed sink full of mud and rocks?  Spilled grape juice with splatter marks and dried paper towels stuck in it?  The stove left on with a pan of icky burnt scrambled eggs?  The possibilities were endless.

I stumbled bleary eyed into the kitchen.  Yay kids!  No mess!  I was so proud of the girls.  They didn’t break and hide anything, they didn’t fight and they loaded their dishes in the dishwasher.  Awesome.  The only thing I would’ve changed is the breakfast choice.  They made themselves smores and tootsie pops.  Delicious?  Yes.  A healthy breakfast?  Not so much.  I did ask that next time they start with cereal and milk, then move on to the sweets.  While I was asking them to eat the cereal, it struck me how much I sounded like my own Mom.  When I was eight (and twelve), I would sneak and eat smores and tootsie rolls too.  This experience is what taught me the “eat good food before junk” Mom speech.

The sky has been dark and overcast all day.  It’s so nice.  The house stays cooler and everything gets sleepy and quiet.  The pets lie around, and so do the rest of us.  We’ve been playing with the fun foil art and watching movies.  Right now the girls are finishing up an episode of “The Magic School Bus”.

This morning I spoke to my Dad.  I’ve been nervous to talk to him because I know I need to tell him about the trip to see my sis.  I have a valid reason to feel nervous – I’m a people pleaser.  I want my Dad to like me and think I make good choices.  I’m always afraid of being judged for the choices I make.  Last time I had wanted to go see Ezekiel, I told Dad about it and he really didn’t like the idea.

Friday is the day that Ezekiel speaks to our parents.  I know that she is just as excited about me visiting as I am, so I knew she would spill the beans.  My decision was to tell Dad before he heard it from Ezekiel, so he wouldn’t think I was trying to hide my plans.  I took a deep breath and told him.  Without skipping a beat, he said, “That sounds like fun.  You and your sister need eachother right now.”  I skipped the beat.  “Really?” Iasked.  “Yep.  You got a good price on the tickets too.”  Nice.

He then went on to tell me that the time of year I’m going should be quite nice.  He also told me about his favorite places to eat and shop as well as his favorite parks and museums.  He even told me how to prepare for certain types of transportation so I don’t have any surprises.  I told him that I was already surprised.  He asked me if I thought he was going to bite my head off.  I said, “Well yeah.”  He explained that the reason he gave me grief the last time I had considered making the trip was because Husband hadn’t found a job yet and he was worried about the financial strain; he’s not worried about that anymore.  That’s totally understandable.  Knowing why he said what he said made me feel a lot less guilty.  I love my Dad.

I finished framing all the art for my room today.  Tomorrow I’ll hang them up.  Maybe I’ll even take pictures.

I hope it keeps raining!

Note for me:  Flare staying steady.  Increased AG to three capsules.

~ by blanketgirl on May 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
