The Rest

Today I am pissed.  I give a ride home almost everyday to some kids in our neighborhood after school.  After I dropped them off today, the oldest girl of fifteen (whom I have asked before not to slam the car door) slammed it again with a cracking bang.  Once at home I tried to open the door and it won’t open from the outside anymore.  I am so mad!  First her younger sister of twelve spent the night at our house and jacked up my kiddos computer to equal three hours of work for me, and now the oldest does this.  These kids are poison!  To add insult to injury their Dad hasn’t worked in over two years, so they have no money.  I have to eat the cost to fix the door and can’t say anything to the mom because she’ll feel bad and want to fix it.  Damn.

Husband is going to fix it this week.  He thinks it’s just the clip in the door handle mechanism that costs about five dollars to fix.  If not, I’m looking at a couple hundred dollars.  Yuck.

So last night I went over to the home a friend to watch a few TV shows and eat dinner together.  I took Youngest with me as Oldest went to a theme park with her friend.

I didn’t write last night because I was really sore and discouraged and couldn’t sleep let alone think.  I was so exhausted.  In the end I only slept about two hours.  I woke up to feeling fuzzy all over.  When I arrived at friends house, I was discouraged to see that it was in need of some organizing, plus it smelled bad.  Being as tired as I was I blurted out, “God it really stinks in here!”

I have a sensitive sniffer and my lord.  It smelled like something had died, come back to life, farted  and then died again.  Rotten and horrid.  She laughed at me and said, “See that’s why I like you.  No nonsense.  If you hadn’t said anything I wouldn’t have known.  So thank you.”  What a nice person.  I was so embarrassed.  I have trouble with my internal filter to begin with and when I’m tired it’s even harder to control.  I’m glad she wasn’t offended.

As a habit, whenever I am at this particular friends home I feel compelled to clean no matter how sore and yucky I feel.  I want to relax and enjoy the time spent with her and it’s hard for me to do so in chaos.  It’s not dirty in the traditional sense, just cluttered.  I jumped right in by sorting and folding her laundry.  Then as we chatted I emptied and filled her dishwasher.  After that I organized the groceries on the floor and placed them in the pantry.  I get such a kick out of doing it because I know it helps her, and I like the instant gratification when it looks great.

After we had finished feeding the kids and ourselves we talked and I knitted while she did some things on Facebook.  It was a really pleasant time.  Youngest and I went home around eleven thirty.  We were both pooped out.

I tucked Youngest in and went to bed myself.  I then proceeded to sleep for twelve hours.  Not straight through mind you, but twelve freaking hours.  I haven’t slept that long since I was a teenager, or if I have I don’t remember it right now.  No dreams that I recall.  I felt so much better today.  After being awake for about two hours I napped.  I can’t seem to stay awake.  It’s been a long week and I think it’s officially caught up with me.  Either that or the cleaning at my friends home has kicked my ass.

~ by blanketgirl on May 2, 2009.

One Response to “The Rest”

  1. My record is 17 hours. 😀

    Sleep is excellent for people with AI conditions. We heal lots when we sleep.

    You might try talking to the 15-year-old directly. Tell her that she broke the door when she slammed it, it cost $X to fix and maybe tell her next time a slam happens you’ll have to have a chat w/ her Mom.

    I know you don’t want to upset the Mom, but you can’t let a 15-year-old walk over you.

Leave a Reply

 
