Garbage Out

Today Mr. McTerrorpants rooted through the garbage again.  He is so naughty!

I had an appointment in the morning and Youngest had accidentally left my sewing room door open.  There are things that smell of me in that room, but are not for eating.  He got into the trash and I discovered strewn fabric and thread bits all over the room.  He even chewed one of my plastic knitting hooks.  Naughty, naughty dog!  Mr. McTerrorpants needs to stop needing me so bad!  Every time I leave the house for more than an hour and a half, he goes berserker.

If anyone knows the solution to helping a doggy overcome separation anxiety, let me know please.  Please note that I have given him a frozen peanut butter filled Kong toy (a Kong is a conical durable yet chewable red plastic toy with holes in either end and a hollow middle), and a rawhide to keep him busy while I’m away.  I’m unsure as to what is upsetting him.  I feel bad for him because I really believe that he just gets caught up in the moment.  Sort of a “Oh God, she’s gone.  Will she come back?  What if she doesn’t come back?  I need her!  Maybe if I just eat this garbage that smells of her, or the furniture, I’ll feel better.  Yes, definitely!  That will make me feel much better!”  After doing whatever deviant action he chooses satiates him, I think it goes a bit like this, “Oh God.  She’s home!  Yay!  She’s HOME!!  I can’t believe it.  Oh SHIT!  I ate her things.  Oh bad, bad, bad, me.  Sorry Mommy!  Can you ever forgive me?”  He surely has problems with impulse control.

There’s a fantastic website called http://www.ihasahotdog.com that posts adorable and funny pictures of doggies and kitties doing all sorts of doggy and kitty things.  Mr. McTerrorpants could certainly star in a few shots.  I found a few that relate to my feelings about his general naughtiness.

funny-dog-pictures-i-gotz-mail

Note the look of “I know I shouldn’t have done this but I just couldn’t stop” – that’s exactly what Mr. looks at me like when I return home.  Hah!

funny-dog-pictures-dog-is-surprised-you-wanted-his-toy-to-stay-stuffed

This is another fairly common occurance at my home.  We lovingly refer to it as Mr. killing his babies.  He loves them to death literally.

Last but not least, the thing I hate most coming home to even more than garbage and destroyed toys:

funny-dog-pictures-not-poops-on-floor

Again, this is a perfect example of his guilt face.

And now for his real face from today:

dscn2680

Almost makes me feel more sorry for him than upset.  Poor guy.  I just need his conscience to kick in before he destroys my house!

~ by blanketgirl on April 29, 2009.

One Response to “Garbage Out”

  1. I wish I had helpful advice! I feel for both of you. I miss you terribly too and if I had access to loads of things that smell of you I’d probably roll about and taste them too. I totally get where he is coming from.

    On the other hand, I’d try not to do any permanent damage and I’d put everything back the way I found it so you don’t get creeped out.

    Clearly this doesn’t translate to humans very well.

Leave a Reply

 
