Great Disappoinment

Today I was supposed to have my procedure to install the interstim.  It didn’t happen.

I went to admitting, they started the IV, they gave me the speech on after care and had me sign all the admitting papers.  My doctor came to interview me before the procedure and see if I had any questions and then they found it; a 100.4 degree temperature.  Damn it!

My doctor suspected a sinus infection.  I don’t really have any symptoms aside from a mildly stuffy nose which I had attributed to seasonal allergies.  Doctor insisted on placing me on antibiotics and is rescheduling the procedure for sometime in the next few weeks.

In a way I’m relieved.  I hate surgery.  On the other end of the spectrum I was optimistic that the unit would help me as soon as today.  I’ve decided to look at this as an opportunity to do more research.  It was suggested to me that rather than starting with the interstim after the meds failed, I should try cathing exclusively from start to finish (rather than just finish) for a few weeks to see if the memory muscle in my bladder will reset itself naturally.  This thought intrigues me so I’m beginning tomorrow.

Husband received a phone call from his boss after we returned home.  He asked that husband come in right away to talk.  Husband left in a bit of a panic, suspecting that he may be getting laid off again.  We don’t have a cell phone, so I sat at home anxiously waiting to hear what the outcome would be.

After about an hour, he came home and it was not bad news at all.  Husband has been offered, and accepted, a position in the warehouse portion of the store he works in.  This will come with a mild pay raise and beautiful hours; ten a.m. to six p.m., weekends off.

All things considered I suppose today wasn’t that disappointing after all.

~ by blanketgirl on April 21, 2009.

One Response to “Great Disappoinment”

  1. I will talk with you before you read this, but I just wanted to say that I’m glad you’re at peace where medical things are concerned.

    Also, huge congrats to Husband! I’m so pleased for him.

Leave a Reply

 
