Such a Pussy

Today was not quite as productive as I’d hoped.  I over worked myself yesterday and am very sore.  I did manage to finish all the laundry and deliver the cheesecakes I made for a friend of mine that helped me with a few things.  I love repaying kindness with yummy food.

I’m too nervous to keep a complete thought tonight.

I’m such a wuss!  Each time I have surgery I tell myself, “This is old hat.  Nothing new.  You’ll be just fine.”  Yet that angry sewer troll in the back of my mind likes to scare me.  “You’re gonna die on the table!  Moo-ha-ha-ha-haha!”

I always plan ahead to make sure I won’t have much to worry about.  I’ll take a book with me, leave all my jewelry at home and wear my glasses.  I have special cozy socks I’ll wear during the surgery so my feet don’t get cold.  I’ve arranged for a family friend to babysit my daughters after school.  That will allow hubby to stay in the waiting room through the whole procedure in the event that something happens.  Even if nothing happens, it’s comforting to know he’s right there and can take me home as soon as I’m ready.  I don’t like staying there any longer than I absolutely have to.

I have a few concerns.  I look forward to the benefits the interstim will give me, yet I’m dreading having the wire sticking out of my side for two weeks.  It’ll be weird looking and I can only assume very odd feeling.  I also don’t like the idea of no shower or a bathing for two weeks.  Pits, tits and ass sponge baths only or PTA as I like to call it.  Gag!

I have the schedule planned for tomorrow.  Hubby will take the kids to school, then I’ll shower and clean every nook and cranny a few times over.  After that we’ll head to the outpatient surgical center.  The procedure itself only takes about an hour and half.  After that I’ll come home and rest.  I hope I can eat.  No food or drink for me after three am.  Bummer!  It’s going to be hard to go without my medications in the morning.  My plan for that is to go to sleep late tonight, maybe around three, having taken my meds.  Then when I get up around ten thirty it’ll only be a short time until we leave so it won’t be too bothersome.

So it’s official, I’m a pussy.  I hate surgery.  I can’t wait for tomorrow to come and then go.

~ by blanketgirl on April 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
