Lines Secure

Today is my dear sister Ezekiel’s birthday.  I love you dearly my sweet sister!

I hope this day was absolutely wonderful for her.  For a special gift, I sorted through many live recordings of “Space Dog” and found this one that I loved.

Each time I hear this song I immediately think of my sister, and how much she loves it.  It was her first favorite Tori song.  We both share a warm devoted respect for Tori Amos.  I love having that be one of the many connections she and I have together.

She has always been a special part of my life.  When I was in third grade I adored her so exquisitely that I took her to present to my class for show-and-tell.  She truly is cute as hell.  We used to call her “Lambda”.  She would nap midday and had such a well functioning internal heater that her cheeks would turn bright red.

When she became ill, I felt sick myself.  I hurt with her.  I wanted nothing but to take it from her.  When I became sick, she felt the same.  For both of us to have rare auto immune conditions that are chronic seemed unusual.  It gave us unique insight into what the other was experiencing.  We’ve often commented that no one really understands (except those that have a condition themselves) because they don’t live with the challenges and sadness that come with being so ill all the time.  I’ve found it to be invaluable to have her next to me.

As we grow older together I remember the old and the new, enriching my friendship with her.  I have no one else that I can claim a 28 year relationship with.

Now I have all sorts of interests that interlock with my darling Ezekiel.  We both love to read.  We both love words and grammar.  We both wait on pins and needles for the new Tori and Depeche Mode albums (we love that they are being released so close together, absolute bliss), we both love noodles and vegetables.  We both are excellent bakers.  We both love silly pictures of dogs.  We love singing and being creative.

I can’t wait for a time that we are closer together physically, yet emotionally we couldn’t be tighter.

Again, happy birthday; I love you sis!

~ by blanketgirl on April 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “Lines Secure”

  1. Sometimes the simplest words work the best, even when they meaning may not carry the huge weight coming in behind them. So:

    Thank you.

    I love you.

    I miss you every day.

    You’re my favourite sister too.

    I’m so incredibly grateful to have you in my life.

  2. ‘even when THEY’RE meaning’

    I’m going to blame that on the few tears I shed. 🙂

  3. OH sweet jesus! THEIR

    THEIR

    I clearly shouldn’t be left unsupervised today.

Leave a Reply

 
