Quiet Siege

Well I did go to hospital today.  I went at around 11:30 am, and arrived home at 5:00pm.  The doctor was able to give me some potent medications to control the worst of the pain.  Sweet relief.

I was pleasantly surprised when I spoke to the ER doctor.  She actually listened to me.  I know, shocking, right?  She sat with me and really heard my description of my condition and symptoms, then treated them.  Not exactly in that order….

At first she gave me the speech about my contract with the pain center and how they are supposed to be keeping my pain in check; she wouldn’t be able to write any prescriptions.  I’ll admit my brain snapped.  I slightly shouted that I am not a drug seeker.  I just want to have medications in the hospital today to control this intense pain.  I don’t want a prescription.  I explained that I flare like this on occasion in addition to the everyday pain.  My pain medication is inadequate for flares, and if I keep using it night and day like I have been I will run out before the month is up and not have anything for the usual pain.

Quickly her statement changed.  She said that she would treat me today, however I should call the pain center and tell them that I will need additional pain control during times of flare.  I promised I would do just that and told her about the request I gave on March 20th to have morphine for the flares.  She thought that they should have prescribed it immediately instead of asking me to wait another month.  She decided the morphine would be an ideal medication and gave me two injections.  Damn but morphine injections sting!

After further discussion about my IC, she said that it appeared as though I know quite a bit about my own illness, so she would bypass all the blood tests and x-rays.  The only test she did perform was a urinalysis to make sure I didn’t have a bladder or urinary tract infection.  They came back negative and she actually said that my sample was pristine.  Odd thing to brag about, but it was nice to have something physical to attest to how well I take care of my body.

So now that I’m back home I’m going to rest.

Ezekiel had commented yesterday that she would try to think of one word to embody the concept of illness sucks, we hate doctors, we don’t deserve this, we love eachother, well done for distracting ourselves, hoping to find relief and peace soon.

Here are my suggestions:

1. Nannicock: a word so rare it has no meaning

2. Curwhibble: a thing-a-ma-jig

3. Corrade: to gather together from many different sources

4. Satisdiction: saying enough

Let’s decide which one we like best and use it.  🙂

By the way, I found these rare/forgotten words at a fun little site, http://www.brownielocks.com/words.html.

~ by blanketgirl on March 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
