Sweet Dreams

I’ve been having the strangest dreams lately.  Truly bizarre.  Last night I dreamt I was in a shelter or health care clinic type place.  I had pulled a number from one of the red ticket type dispensers and was waiting to be called.  I had a fish tank on my lap and was wearing a turtleneck sweater.

My husband was with me, and we waited for quite some time.  When they called my number, we met with a nurse dressed in black who took us back into a dining area that looked sort of like a dining car of a train.  We had a spaghetti dinner and listened to violins and cellos.

After that we were taken into a submersion pool area.  I started to get in, then panicked and wanted out because there was a large shark in the water.  Everyone kept assuring me it was fine, so I got in despite my fear.  I was more scared then I thought, because it woke me up.

I stayed awake for about two hours after that, because each time I’d begin to drift off, the same dream would start again and I’d get scared and wake up.  Side note: why is it that only the bad dreams pick up where they leave off?  I’ve tried to fall asleep and bring up good dreams after waking and can’t achieve it.  Anyway, when I did fall back to sleep I dreamt of Jesus getting baptized by John the Baptist while John spoke in some strange dialect.  Jesus seemed nervous and uncertain that baptism was what he should be doing.  It was very odd.

I looked in dream interpretation books today and found this summary of symbols:

To see or dream that you are at a shelter represents the difficulties and sense of helplessness that you are going through. It suggests your fear of things that are different from you.

To see a ticket in your dream signifies the start of a new endeavor. You have decided on your path and goals in life.

To see a fish tank in your dream signifies that you have acknowledged your emotions but have not yet confronted them.  Also, you may feel that your life is going nowhere or that you feel it is going in circles. Alternatively, the aquarium may indicate that you need to calm down and set some time for yourself to relax and unwind.

To see or wear a sweater in your dream symbolizes your continuing connection and strong ties with your family and home life. Alternatively, it represents a kind of innocence.

To dream that you are waiting is indicative of issues of power/control and feelings of dependence/independence, especially in a relationship.

To see a nurse in your dream denotes that you need to be taken care of. It may also suggest that you need to take time out for healing, either mentally, physically or spiritually.

Black symbolizes the unknown, unconscious, danger, mystery, darkness, death, mourning, hate or malice.

To dream that you are eating with others signifies harmony, intimacy, merriness, prosperous undertakings, personal gain, and/or joyous spirits.

To see or eat spaghetti in your dream indicates that you are feeling entangled in some messy relationship.

To see or hear a cello in your dream represents sensual or creative achievements. You are exhibiting much strength and stability.  To see or hear a violin in your dream symbolizes peace and harmony in your waking life.

To see a pool in your dream indicates that you need to understand and deal with your emotions. You need to dive right in. Alternatively, a pool may indicate your need for cleansing. You need to wash away the past.

To dream that you are in a panic indicates a lack of control and power in your life. You may be feeling helpless in some situation or unable to make a clear decision.

To see a shark in your dream indicates feelings of anger, hostility, and fierceness. You may be going through a difficult, painful, or unpleasant emotional period. Alternatively, it represents a person whom you see as greedy and unscrupulous. This person goes after what he or she wants with no regards to the well-being and sensitivity of others.

To hear or speak a foreign language in your dream indicates a message from your unconscious that you do not yet understand. Alternatively, you may not be making yourself clear to others.

To see Jesus in your dream, foretells that your greatest desires and goals will be realized. This dream serves to console and strengthen you in your times of adversity, hardship and struggle. You will rise above any situation and circumstance and become victorious.

I don’t know much about dream interpretation, but I do find it interesting.  Maybe I’ll look into it some more, or maybe not.  For now it’s intriguing to think about them.  I wonder how the meanings are determined.  Is this like the people that name paint colors?  Someone just decides?

I hope to have good dreams tonight.


~ by blanketgirl on March 12, 2009.

One Response to “Sweet Dreams”

  1. I’m always amazed that you can remember your dreams so clearly. Mine are gone within minutes. Even if I think it over and want to tell someone about it, I can’t hold on.

    I expect that dream interpretation is much like horoscopes. You make up a certain amount, then you take what you can from human experience and emotion then tie it up all pretty.

    Both are good fun provided you don’t take them too seriously. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
