Much Food

I’ve officially missed two days since I resolved to write everyday.  I’ve not been feeling well, so that’s why I’ve been absent.  Yesterday I laid around once again.  I didn’t sleep well last night, I was up until 6 am which totally threw off my day.  The girls were given MP3 players yesterday for early birthday presents (there was a sale and a 2GB unit was only $14.99, and it has a radio feature) I worked on those, getting songs loaded, then watched more TV.

One thing I did accomplish was creating my own green chile sauce.  I can’t eat it, but my family misses those types of foods.  It turned out great (according to them).  It’s very weird to cook without tasting the food.  I didn’t dare even taste it with the way my bladder’s been feeling.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 4 tbsp oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 cups milk
  • 3 1/2 cups no chicken veggie broth
  • 14 oz. canned, diced green chiles

Heat the oil in a 2 quart pot.  Add the garlic.  Stir for 5 min. do not brown.  Add the flour, pepper, and cumin to make a paste.  Gradually add the milk, whisking constantly to avoid lumps.  Add the green chiles, then the broth.  Bring to a boil, then simmer on low for 30 minutes or more.

I actually let it simmer for about three hours.  Next came the green chile chicken enchiladas.

  • 6 taco size flour tortillas
  • 26 oz. shredded chicken
  • 1 cup cheddar/monterey jack cheese

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease an 8 in. x 11 in. glass pan.  Add enough chile sauce to the bottom of the pan to coat.  Mix two cups of sauce with the shredded chicken.  Place about three to four tablespoons of chicken mixture in the tortilla, with a sprinkle of cheese.  Roll and place in the pan.  Put leftover chicken and sauce mixture over the top of the tortillas.  Pour on more sauce to cover the top of the  enchiladas, then sprinkle with the remaining cheese.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Serve with pico de gallo.

My whole family loved these.  If you try the recipe, let me know what you think – and don’t forget to tell me what you change.  These aren’t enchiladas in the traditional sense, but they’re yummy!

The girls worked in the garden today.  They did a great job.  They softened up the ground and pulled the weeds.  Hopefully tomorrow I’ll be feeling well enough to add in the potting soil and get the ground turned.  We just might have everything planted by this Wednesday.  I’m keeping everything crossed that we do!

~ by blanketgirl on March 8, 2009.

One Response to “Much Food”

  1. Sounds very yummy! I will have to try it and let you know.

    I know it sucks having to miss out on these things, but well done for pushing through. I hope you had something yummy to make up for missing it.

Leave a Reply

 
