Children Singin’

Today I heard the girls singing in the back yard, and I smiled.  They were singing “Girl Disappearing” by Tori Amos.  It was the cutest thing I’ve ever heard.  They truly have no idea what she is saying.  I heard them singing “Zepheniah attack on peregrine-os” instead of “Riding on back of palominos”.  Classic. This totally got me laughing.  They’re listening without listening.  I did that when I was little too.  It’s great.

My girls and I are really close.  However with husband going through whatever it is that’s haunting him, our communication has been breaking down.  Daddy has been barking a lot.  Not many manners and a lot of shouting.  The girls have followed suit.  We all hate it so we’ve made a pact with each other that the madder we get, the softer we’ll speak.  So far so good.  It’s amazing how something so subtle as volume can impact an exchange.  I need the tone in our home to chill out and I think this is a good start.

Today I purchased a harness for Gracie.  First step in the “Train Little Doggy” program.  She wore it for two hours.  I was really impressed!  When I first brought it out she ran and hid.  It took forever to get it on her.  She really wasn’t feeling it.  After she had it on, it was like it was sneaking up on her.  She would walk a few steps, then look behind her real fast and back up with her tail tucked and ears back.  Damn tricky thing!  She made it though, so I’m excited to see how she’ll do tomorrow.  I bought a yummy treat of lamb dinner to reward her with.  I have high hopes that she’ll learn the command “Come” fairly quickly.  That’s the first step.  How well she does with that command will give me an idea of how she’ll do with the others.

The girls and I have made plans to start a flower garden in the back yard to attract hummingbirds.  They are so fun to watch!  We have everything we need, so I hope I’ll be feeling well enough to do it this weekend.  If not we have next week.  No pressure on myself for sure.  Especially when I’ve been feeling this bad.  It’ll be nice to have something pretty to look at that we can maintain together.

~ by blanketgirl on February 27, 2009.

One Response to “Children Singin’”

  1. I’ve said it a hundred times, but it worth saying again:

    You are an excellent mother.

    And Grace is an excellent little doggy.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

 
