From an Ether Twist

Today was such an exhausting day.  I had several errands I had to run this morning.  Things are much more difficult to do on my own, so I inevitably feel worn down by the time I get home.  Thank God for nap time!  I slept for about an hour after my jaunt out in the world.

When I woke up, I started to talk to myself.  This is something I haven’t done in quite awhile.  A long while.  I usually do this right before I start writing.  The catch is to get myself to my computer before I lose it.  Today since I’d napped, I had enough self awareness to do just that.

I sat down with my headset and went for it.  I wrote four pages in a small little essay.  It was so liberating!  I’m still getting used to how difficult it is to edit my work after writing that much through spoken word.  The Dragon is fantastic yet not perfect.  It’ll get there.

Anyway, after editing myself, I realized that the thing that is so weird for me talking rather than typing is the hand-brain contact.  I’m an artist and a musician.  I see things through my hands.  When I talk-type I don’t get that visual.  This is essentially what my essay was about.  Oh!  I also need to get more fluent at saying my punctuation.  It’s so jarring!  Totally distracts me.  However it would really help speed up the editing process.

I finally got to have another meeting with my own mind.  It was delicious.

~ by blanketgirl on February 20, 2009.

One Response to “From an Ether Twist”

  1. I’m so pleased to hear that you’re writing again! Well done you.

    Love you.

Leave a Reply

 
