Here We Go

I think I need to explain a bit of my last post.  I always assume that everyone that reads this knows me so well they know exactly what I mean; I recognise this is pretend.  If those that read this do know me well they may not know what prompted the post.

Here’s my little bit of back story.

I went to a faux prom type dance with my husband for Valentine’s.  We submitted ‘Our’ song (Summertime Rolls by Jane’s Addiction) and were exposed to others favorite ditties.  Most were country solid, the lesser bunch were from more obscure ‘carnival’ weddings.  That works.  There were lots of disco tunes and gyrations.  Which I love. 

I showed at the party with a group of my friends.  Dressed campy in shiny spangling glittery dangly things.  We all started a cheesy dance train.  I hitched my dress and showed some legs while jiggling all sorts of things.  It was a dance line like on ‘Soul Train’!

Many people joined me and my wildly coiffed crowd.  We had so much fun!  We may have looked stupid, but we had a blast. 

My concern was the bad sportsmanship of those not participating.  They didn’t have to join in.  I never wanted to make them do anything, so I was just nice.  Sadly the nicer I was to them, the more unkind they would treat me.  I’d hear (with my super sonic bat hearing, really) that I was making ‘an ass’ out of myself.  And, ‘weren’t these parties alcohol free?’ to which my good friend who also possesses said bat hearing replied…”Yeah baby, but I got a little to much H in my H2O.”  Yes!  Why can’t I think of zany things like that on the spot?

Anyway, I just thought I should mention the story behind.  Other wise it seems like a random post. 

Those crystal palaces must be cold and lonely.

~ by blanketgirl on February 18, 2008.

One Response to “Here We Go”

  1. I am amazed that these assholes manage to find you. It’s like you have some sort of beacon that attracts them…

    Please don’t ever stop trying to have fun, as long as you’re enjoying your life and you have at least one person on your side keep going. The only reason I say keep the one is because there is safety in numbers. Also in the wrong situation things could get violent if they’re really upset by you enjoying life.

    That’s a big part of why the deafness is so hard for me, I worry that the wrong person will say something and get angry that I don’t respond [because I can’t hear them]. It is hard to be vulnerable.

Leave a Reply

 
